Board of County Commissioners


The five-member Board of County Commissioners is elected at large for four-year staggered terms and may serve unlimited terms. Their duties include: 

  • Deciding what services should be provided to the citizens and how to pay for the services
  • Appointing the County Manager and County Attorney
  • Designating the Clerk to the Board
  • Adopting an annual budget
  • Setting the property tax rate
  • Establish service levels for: 
    • Emergency services
    • Library
    • Mental health
    • Public health
    • Public safety
    • Social services
    • Solid waste
  • Adopting zoning and subdivision regulations
  • Approving new positions
  • Appointing over 300 people to 50 citizen boards (see Boards & Commissions on the left pane).

Commissioner Meeting Videos

View videos for meetings of the Board of County Commissioners since the beginning of the current fiscal year. The videos are presented gavel-to-gavel and will usually be available online by the Friday following each Monday meeting. 


  • 1st Monday at 9 a.m. and the 3rd Monday at 5:30 p.m.
  • Haywood County Courthouse
    215 N Main Street
    Historic Courtroom/DocumentCenter/View/4268
    Waynesville, NC 28786

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are posted on the website prior to the meeting.  Minutes are posted on the website after Board approval. 

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Click here to view a brief summary of Haywood County Board of Commissioner Meetings