Emergency Medical Services

Haywood County Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Spirit

  • Compassion
  • Excellence
  • Honesty
  • Innovative
  • Integrity
  • Motivation
  • Professional
  • Respect
  • Supportive
  • Trust

Primary Objective

Our primary objective is to provide quality emergency care to the citizens and visitors of Haywood County.

Haywood County Emergency Medical Services operates five Advanced Life Support Units at Paramedic level. The units are stationed in Canton, Waynesville, Clyde and Maggie Valley and work a 24/48 or 24/72 schedule. The EMS Supervisor operates a quick response vehicle along with management of daily operations. An EMS coverage plan including "move-ups" to high call volume areas to improve response times is currently in place and is adjusted to maintain consistent response times.

Mission Statement

Haywood County EMS is an organization that provides both emergency and non-emergency quality care to the County of Haywood in a safe, effective, efficient and professional manner. We place a great importance on our core values as we meet the challenges of today's healthcare system.