Skip to main content

Welcome to Haywood County Public Library: Library Leadership


The Library Board of Trustees provides leadership, advocacy, and direction for Haywood County Public libraries.

The current Board is composed of seven members appointed by the Haywood County Commissioners. Each member serves a three-year term and may be reappointed for a second three-year term. The Board meets the third Wednesday of the month at the Waynesville branch Boardroom at 4:30pm. Board meetings are open to the public.

Pictured in the photo above are (from left to right): Bob Bahnsen, Friends of the Library President; Robert Earnest, Library Foundation President; Ed Merritt; County Commissioner Kirk Kirkpatrick; Charlotte Wilson, Vice Chairman; Andrew Sanderbeck; Sally Schaefer; Shelly Coker, Secretary; and Lorinda Whaley, President.

First Board of the Haywood County Public Library

In 1943 the Waynesville Library was organized into the Haywood County Public Library. The County Commissioners appointed the first Board of Trustees in 1943 when the Waynesville Library was organized into the Haywood County Public Library. Charged with governance of the County’s first Board were Colonel J. Harden Howell, Chairman; Mrs. Troy Leatherwood; George A. Brown, Jr.; Hilda Way Gwyn; Glenn Palmer; and, Mrs. H. A. Helder.