Skip to main content

Welcome to Haywood County Public Library: eHistory Collection

ABOUT THE DIGITAL HISTORY COLLECTION

The Haywood County History Collection is a body of photos, documents, and music documenting the history of Haywood County, which began as a contribution to a book marking the 200th birthday of Haywood County. Enjoy this glimpse into our mountain region's colorful history with cemetery, obituary, and veteran records, music heritage, postcards, and more.
Access additional Haywood County images, memorabilia, and newspapers on DigitalNC: http://www.digitalnc.org/institutions/haywood-county-public-library/

If you have items to submit for consideration, contact Library Director Kathy Vossler at 828.452.5169.

View from Courthouse looking North
South Main Street, Waynesville

GENEALOGY GATEWAYS

AncestryLibrary The world's largest family history resource is available for searching while in library branches. Search vital, census, military, and immigration records, as well as city directories, newspapers, and more. If you would like to access Ancestry from home, you must pay a subscription fee.

Atlas of Historical County Boundaries The boundaries of counties within the United States have changed over the centuries. This site shows how and when county boundaries changed to learn the correct place to look for the genealogical records to conduct your research.

FamilySearch Discover your family's story through historical records with free family history and genealogical records. Download the Family Tree app to connect with your ancestors, wherever you are.

Haywood County Historical & Genealogical Society, Inc. The Haywood County Historical & Genealogical Society, Inc is a non-profit organization dedicated to preserving information and serving the citizens of Haywood County. Contact President Mike McLean at MEMcLean@aol.com or 828.275.4057.

HeritageQuest Online Search city directories, census records, Revolutionary War records, and more.

North Carolina Genealogical Society Supporting North Carolina family history research since 1974.

ThoughtCo. Explore your heritage with genealogy tutorials, database recommendations, surname meanings, search strategies, and ancestry charts.

US GenWeb Project - Haywood County The USGenWeb Project is a group of volunteers working together to provide free online genealogy help and information for every U.S. state and county since 1996.

CENSUS RECORDS

1940 Census From the National Archives, this site provides full access to the 1940 census images, maps, and descriptions.

GRAVESITES

BillionGraves BillionGraves is the world's largest resource for searchable GPS cemetery data, and is growing bigger and better every day. You can help by collecting headstone images from local and other cemeteries, and then by transcribing the personal information found on the images.

Find a Grave Search for your ancestors among 170 million grave records. 

VITAL RECORDS

North Carolina National Center for Health Statistics Where to write for birth, death, marriage, and divorce records.

START YOUR RESEARCH at the NORTH CAROLINA GOVERNMENT & HERITAGE LIBRARY

The North Carolina Government & Heritage Library supports family history and genealogical research with a focus on North Carolina.

Materials for research include: family histories, abstracts of government records, county histories, genealogical journals, research guides, census records, databases, and more.

Schedule a 30 minute 1-1 consultation with a Reference Librarian.

Receive help on North Carolina genealogy, history, government research, statistics, and demographics.

Book an Appointment: Email SLNC.reference@ncdcr.gov or call 919.807.7450

Let's DISCOVER something together!